Death by powerpoint

I have been playing catch up ever since starting this course – so today (in between getting out into the rare sunshine in the UK), I thought I would get ahead by completing the reading for next week. That would be a first for this course! I was relieved to see that there was only one reading on the Wiki for Week 3, so my thought was – Ah – this week I will be on top for the first time.

Disappointment! I open this document to find that it’s a PPT of 116 slides. I’m afraid I closed it almost straight away after a cursory flick through. I will wait for the Wednesday Elluminate meeting and hopefully will also pick up something either on Moodle or through someone else’s blog.

I’m surprised that PPT is still being used in this way. I gave up face-to-face teaching almost 3 years ago (I only occasionally do f2f workshops these days), but at that time I was intent on being able to run workshops and give lectures with minimal use of PPT. Just before going independent as an online tutor, I ran a workshop where I did succeed in running a session with no PPT. I often wonder how much the PPT is for the lecturer as opposed to for the students.

So I will now wait until Wednesday for the live session. This is quite good really, as I may be able to catch up with some reading from Weeks 1 and 2 which I am behind with.

3 thoughts on “Death by powerpoint

  1. Matthias Melcher September 23, 2008 / 10:45 pm

    I think this PPT is not too bad because it was probably made with the intent of being a hand-out rather than a beamer presentation (or even a teleprompter for the presenter). Perhaps it does not obey all advice of Kosslyn, though.

    By the way, I cannot find your fine blog in Stephen’s lists.

  2. jennymackness September 24, 2008 / 11:34 am

    Hello Matthias – thanks for your comment and for the reference to Kosslyn, which is helpful. Maybe the PPT will be more helpful after the presentation, when a handout will probably be useful.

    I don’t know why my blog does not appear in Stephen’s lists – but I’m happy to keep a ‘low profile’ 🙂

    I enjoy your blog!

  3. liz renshaw September 27, 2008 / 7:43 am

    I think it was a real disappointment to find no audio. Seemed to have some good concept and information but didnt quite know how to process it myself. Also very boring!!! Not an entity I would want to bond with.

    Glad someone else is playing catchup. School hols here so a bit of time to reflect.

Leave a Reply

