Connectively defeated again!

Well I missed last week’s Ustream session on Friday because it started earlier than expected. I had a meeting booked at the same time, but hoped to be able to catch the end of it, which I might have done had the time not been changed, without me knowing.  I have listened to the recording, but it is just not the same. I suppose this is the difference between connecting conceptually and connecting socially. I find the latter more motivating.

And now I find I can’t get into the Elluminate session, which is supposed to be happening right now as I write this, but the University of Manitoba site seems to be down. If I find that the session has been going on without me, then I will despair, as I have tried every which way to connect.

It’s so frustrating when you want to connect and you just can’t. Currently, I am researching learner experiences in virtual communities of practice and I am really interested in the ‘how’ of making connections. I loved Ailsa’s post in her blog  CCK08 short paper, connectivism, what is it, where is it and can i get some? where she writes:

In this exchange, there needs to be movement for learning to have occurred.

Well, I have moved, and I still haven’t connected and so I haven’t learned.  If the learning is to be ‘e’, then the first hurdle will be in being able to and knowing how to make the connections online. Will the technology, or our understanding of the technology, let us/enable us to make those initial tentative connections which are going to be so important in our learning process?

I am not a ‘techie’, so I’m not super confident with technology  and I’ve just got this horrible suspicion that not being able to get into the Elluminate session might be something to do with my lack of understanding of how technology works. But, on the other hand, I know that compared to some of my colleagues I am ahead of the game. George says that all learning starts with a connection, but how can we help people make those initial connections online?

Well it’s 6.03 and I’ve just managed to get in, to find there are 27 participants on the call and Grainne Conole is on slide number 100 – Aaaaargh! And there does seem to have been trouble with the Manitoba server and with Grainne’s server. That makes me feel much better, although I still haven’t a clue what has been said up to now when I can access the site, so what is being said at the moment has little meaning.  I can see that there are 143 slides – although I’ve had to go to slideshare to see it – thanks to Pat Parslow for the link! – I can’t see it on Elluminate.

And now it’s 6.35 pm and although I’ve listened to the last half hour and read the chat, I’m still none the wiser – cloudmaking, cloudscape and compendiums seem to be the new words, but currently I have no idea what they mean. Hopefully there will be a recording, but it just won’t be the same.

And I was so looking forward to this session – just my area of interest! So I’m feeling thoroughly disconnected tonight!

7 thoughts on “Connectively defeated again!

  1. Matthias Melcher October 22, 2008 / 8:36 pm

    Thanks for reminding us that this much improvising (as tonight) is really too much of geekiness. I was already a little bit proud that the DEcentralized way of finding the elluminate URL address again had defeated the centralized, single point of failure, Umanitoba hub. But it is not your fault of being “not super confident with technology”.

    On the contrary: YOU did it right, and we succeeded only because we tried redundant alternate ways that are necessary if one is NOT confident that the primary way works: TheDaily copy of the link – failed, last Wednesday’s daily – failed, secondlast Wednesday’s Daily – worked, and then Twitter and Delicious copies of the URL.

  2. Grainne Conole October 22, 2008 / 8:44 pm

    Jenny i am so so sorry you had such a bad experience! I have recently completed a spanish course and could never connect to the audio conferences and found it so frustrating – some days i wanted to cry and shout at the same time (and admit i might have done a bit of both ;-)) Slides are in slideshare glad u found the link and there will be an audio so check with george and stephen about that. Also it wasn’t 143 slides – an annoying feature of putting mac presentations on slideshare it counts every interactive bit as a slide!!!!

    Welcome further thoughts from u if and when! u get a chance to see the presentation properly!!

  3. suifaijohnmak October 23, 2008 / 1:29 am

    Hi Jenny,
    I feel sorry for that failed connection you experienced. This is similar to the feeling that we have iwhen our trusted friend failed to turn up in an appointment on time.
    So, I think you have touched deeply on the human side on connectivism. That’s sometimes we experienced disappointments due to the failure of technology affordance.

    I have also visited Ailsa’s blog, and have responded to hers’ in my blog.
    I have always pondered on the psychological impacts of connectivism on people and networks (social and all other related community of practice) (but that is beyond behaviourism, constructivism etc. because they have not addressed the technology affordance at the time of their creation).
    I am aware that “connectivists” may think that such psychological approach will temper the “new learning theory” but still think this is absolutely necessary to off set the side (or negative) effects due to connectivism.
    Do you think such an “art” and “science” of human aspects in connectivism be useful?
    Cheers.

  4. Zemina Hasham October 23, 2008 / 5:54 am

    Hi Jenny,

    I just read through the issues you had with joining your session. If you encounter any more issues with Elluminate, just contact our help desk at 866-388-8674 and we’ll do our best to help you! You can also reach me – my contact information is below.

    Thanks!

    Zemina Hasham
    Senior Director, Client Services
    Elluminate Inc.
    Email: ZeminaH@elluminate.com

  5. jennymackness October 23, 2008 / 9:36 am

    Thank you Matthias, Grainne, John, Zemina and Keith for your sympathetic comments, which made have helped to reconnect me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

