A 10 minute post

Having just  read 10 Web 2.0 things you can do in 10 minutes, which has been posted by Stephen on today’s Daily, I am tesing this out to see if I can make anything like a respectable post in 10 minutes. Time is a real issue with connectivism, as exemplified by this course, as I’m sure many people are finding.

Earlier in the course Stephen posted that the course should take about 8 hours per week, but to do this course justice you would need to spend far more. Carmen’s post today, which I have only skim read, must have taken her a considerable amount of time and there are many others on the course who make deeply reflective and what must be time-consuming posts.

Connectivism seems to demand constant interaction and ‘fast’ connections, whereas deep and critical thinking and reflective learning takes time. This seems to be a tension for me in connectivism. Do we want to listen to multiple interactions, all fast firing, on twitter, on blogs, in Second Life, on Facebook, etc, etc. – the list seems endless (how do people do it!), or do we want to/need to take more time and listen to more thoughtful posts?

I am really struggling with time. I haven’t even read last week’s reading’s yet and I haven’t responded to other people’s blogs as much as I wanted to. I have watched George’s video introduction to this week today, which provides an excellent overview of where we are up to. How does he manage to be so concise? But doesn’t he look exhausted.

Is this what connectivism means? That we are so busy keeping up our connections that we are permanently exhausted? If George is looking tired, then there is absolutely no hope for me. It has taken me 20 minutes, going like the clappers and not saying anything much to write this post!

7 thoughts on “A 10 minute post

  1. Keith Lyons November 17, 2008 / 9:00 pm

    Jenny

    I think you have blended your approach to CCK08 in a way that that exemplifies what connectivism is and can be.

    I have learned from you and other course members that openness gives us immense possibilities. Being open allows us to be transparent about vulnerability and persistence.

    Like you I am amazed how energised Stephen and George are. I put it down to adrenalin and lots of coffee.

    Your blog has been a delightful didactic experience for me.

    Keith

  2. suifaijohnmak November 18, 2008 / 2:31 am

    Hi Jenny,

    I echoed with your view that “Connectivism seems to demand constant interaction and ‘fast’ connections, whereas deep and critical thinking and reflective learning takes time. This seems to be a tension for me in connectivism.”
    Another fine piece on connectivism, crystallising the importance of a balance between “connections” and deep thinking and reflection, and a real appreciation of the connections and learning behind. I have included some ideas about religious beliefs as well as I could see this concept will soon surface out of connectivism, as a result of too many hasty connections. That is, what is the spirit of connections? What are the opportunities and challenges?

    Again, a great learning moment in reading your blog. Many thanks and cheers.
    John

  3. Maru del Campo November 18, 2008 / 11:03 pm

    Hi Jenny!

    First of all thanks for taking the time to read me and leave a comment in my blog. I know you wish to have more time to visit more blogs but as you mention in your post this is a fast lane course.

    I enjoy connections, I enjoy more close connections, I like to belong, I like groups. Networks are new for me and I find hard to deal with weak ties.

    It took me more than 10 minutes to watch Stephen’s slide show. why? Because many of the sites and tools he mentions are new to me so I took notes about them to visit later. I have been an e-learner for 2 years or so, I just gave my first online course last March. This is more than a fast lane for me! I’m out of my comfort zone in many aspects. I’m investing more than 8 hours a week, 5 per day could be an average, I am finding the experience rewarding.

    Thanks also for introducing me to Carmen.
    Have a nice week. Maru

  4. Heli November 21, 2008 / 10:01 pm

    Hi you all wise co-learners in CCK08

    If we are stuggling with time.. perhaps we should transform the concept of time and busyness and hurry. What do they mean to us?
    If time is always “the right thing” but we try something wrongly, somthing impossible?
    Can we really change us? Otherwise all is going on as it has been going years and years.

    I loved your blog post, Jenny, it made me think.. thanks
    Heli

Leave a Reply

