Taking things forward

I’m not at all sure whether I am going to continue blogging – but I have been thinking a lot about the course and have appreciated the kind comments that people have made on this blog and have sent me by email.

I have been watching and, in a way, waiting to see what, if anything, is going to happen as a result of this course.

John continues to post with a vengeance. I can’t keep up with you John 🙂

Mike has made a wonderful post about his four year old daughter’s use of technology. I can’t help but think she’s a very lucky girl to have such a talented father. I can’t imagine that her school is doing all the things that he is doing with her. Just think of the advantages she will have. My own children were just leaving school as computers and particularly home computers became the norm.

Heli has posted her final thoughts – http://helistudies.edublogs.org/files/2008/12/cck08.pdf. I so admire the people who have managed to do this course in another language.

Sarah has posted her message to George and Stephen http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t7DEvYc6VVU It’s interesting how much Sarah managed to get a lot out of the course despite absenting herself from it in the middle.

Carmen – like me – is still thinking about the implications of connectivism for learners of all ages and cultures. Carmen’s post reminded me of a post I made very early on in my blog about the tyranny of participation – https://jennymackness.wordpress.com/2008/09/13/succumbing-to-the-tyranny-of-participation/

Others are obviously taking a breather (there are no new posts on their blog) or they may have decided to end their blogging. Others still have moved on to other subjects and areas of interest.

I don’t feel quite ready to move on yet. I’m still wondering how best to make use of what I learned. After all it was quite a big chunk out of the year – 3 months!  Currently I am thinking – a lot! Reflecting – a lot! I am looking back – through this blog and other people’s blogs to try and pull things together into something more coherent. I am talking to teaching friends and anyone who will listen about what I have learned. I am thinking about how the ideas presented in the connectivism course relate to some research I am doing into learner’s experiences in a virtual community of practice. I think it is very relevant. I am seeking opportunities where I can put what I have learned into practice. That seems to me to be the real test.

It would be really interesting to know how people are applying what they have learned. Is application a necessary part of learning?

10 thoughts on “Taking things forward

  1. Sarah Stewart December 6, 2008 / 9:38 pm

    I have just been catching up with your last few posts, and I would say that I feel the samme about unfinished business. We’ve done all this learning-now we need to put it into practice & do our own research. I think it would be great to come together again, maybe in an online unconference, next year to discuss our experiences and take the conversation to the next level, whatever that is.

    Keep blogging-I’ve enjoyed reading this blog. Happy Christmas.

  2. suifaijohnmak December 6, 2008 / 11:17 pm

    Hi Jenny, https://jennymackness.wordpress.com/2008/12/06/taking-things-forward/
    Great to learn how you feel and think about blogging. You have already started practising that synthesising technique Keith has used, that was what you mentioned in the previous blog, and that is wonderful! I will use that approach in the coming posts too!
    Isn’t it amazing? We soon put such “hidden skills” into practice.

    I have created a detailed response on my blog. Thanks again for your inspiring post.
    John

  3. suifaijohnmak December 7, 2008 / 1:03 am

    Jenny,
    I just checked the cck08 blog, but found that my post appeared on top. I didn’t do anything intentionally, as I noticed you were the one setting it up initially. Do you know what happens?
    I have created a few more posts on blogging. More coming.
    Sorry that I couldn’t keep up with you and others too! So you are not alone!
    John

  4. ctscho December 7, 2008 / 6:31 pm

    Hi Jenny,

    I missed your link to the “tyranny of participation” the first time around– your post now got me to it right when I was in a frame of mind to appreciate it. So connectivism… and open posting:-)… proves its value in this case, in spite of my clear ambiguity about some of it! (I do think accepting this ambiguity, rather than insisting on absolutes, is pretty important…) I made a mental note while reading your previous post that you had moved some communication to email, and I thought this was very interesting… would be interested in hearing more about the choices and developments in this area.

    I agree– there’s still a lot of reflection going on, and to be done. Among my very preliminary wonderings is the relationship between different aspects of connectivist theory, openness, and application, and very hot-button topics such as generation… and gender.

    And in terms of application– in my case, this is one of those things that doesn’t seem appropriate (for lack of a better word) for prime-time online discussion, since it has implications for a larger community and others’ privacy. I struggled with this throughout the course; not sure how I’m going to work with this going forward.

    Maybe we’re musing our ways in the same directions… you know where to find me:-)
    Carmen

  5. Keith Lyons December 7, 2008 / 7:46 pm

    KEEP BLOGGING … otherwise I will have to spend even more time in the garden!

  6. Viplav Baxi December 9, 2008 / 12:21 pm

    Jenny, do keep blogging :). One of the most critical things that I have learnt throught this course is to bring rigor into my relections – something that has been considerably enriched in ways I could not achieve alone. That to me is powerful. You will find a lot of things similar to CoPs in stuff we have discussed – especially around roles of educators. Thanks for being part of my network!

  7. emapey December 19, 2008 / 1:23 am

    You wrote: “I’m not at all sure whether I am going to continue blogging” Jenny, do you want to become now “Jenny Disconnected”??

    Use this same blog to write about other related topics. Add other tags and categories. You don’t need to always blog about connectivism.

  8. emapey January 19, 2009 / 10:35 pm

    Jenny, great you continued blogging. I have already bookmarked your new post Connecting through people’s people

    Did you read all the new great posts from suifaijohnmak?

    Since the CCK08 online course has finished I am now only using the tag: “connectivism” for posts about this topic

  9. jennymackness January 25, 2009 / 10:15 am

    Thanks for the encouragement emapey. I have to admit that I am struggling with blogging!
    Jenny

Leave a Reply

