5 thoughts on “Truthful blogging

  1. Mike Bogle March 23, 2009 / 6:55 pm

    Wow how’s that for a thought. I’ll have to ponder this a bit further but my initial thoughts from a personal standpoint are that, if I blogged every thought I had that I considered to be worthwhile I wouldn’t ever leave the desk.

    There are also times where I start to write a post and for some reason completely lose track of where I’m going with it – typically due to some external factor or force. My kids running in to drag me away from the desk is a prime example there. Then when I return I often find I can’t remember what I was going to say. So there are day-to-day constraints that can influence or impact upon the process.

    And yet in saying that, this doesn’t represent a counter argument to what you’re saying, but perhaps an explanation of why it can happen.

    I see developing a mindset and value system that recognises the importance of openness, honesty and sharing in communication as very important, and that this can lend itself quite strongly to truthful blogging. In that sense the latter is included in the former.

    I make that distinction because there are lots of ways we can share our thoughts. For example I hold shorter discussions via Twitter or Facebook. This can sometimes see relatively tiny, underdeveloped trains of thoughts grow into something much larger when exposed to the network.

    So when we’re talking about how much we share and discuss I think it’s important to bear in mind the myriad of different places where sharing and discussion take place. You think?

    Great topic – thanks for posting it!

    Hope all is well.

  2. Mike Bogle March 23, 2009 / 7:02 pm

    Something else worth passing along I just discovered. Bronwyn Stuckey posted a comment on a post by George Siemens that seems to echoes what you’ve said in the past.

    She writes:

    “…When I blog or tweet or comment on FB, while it is part of a stream of activity, I am still choosing to project aspects of my day or thinking and leave behind others. Impressions are gained from that are no more the whole me – just what I elect to expose…”

  3. suifaijohnmak March 24, 2009 / 12:17 am

    Hi Jenny,
    I am wondering if emergence play a significant part in truthful blogging. Through connections and interactions, I have always found a different mindset emerging out of the complex interactions – which seems to impact the “truthfulness” of the bloggers.
    Besides, I am pondering on the impact of emergence on blogging, especially in MOOC as to where those truth will be emerged through the entire course of learning. Will the course objectives and learning strategies emerged as well?
    What is the impact of these emergence on the learning ecology?
    Any interest in my various posts on learning metaphor – digestive system, understanding the elephant?

    Another factor is the cultural habits. Asian culture normal promotes restraints on expression – silence is golden, and tolerance and patience…
    Thanks for this stimulating post.
    John

Leave a Reply

