Research is scary!

We have launched our CCK08 survey today. Did you blog or post to the moodle forums, or both, or neither during the CCK08 course?

It seemed to us that there must be very few courses that offer participants the choice of where they want to communicate, and that it would be interesting, if not important, to investigate the possible reasons behind the choices that were made.

We have spent a month working out the design for the survey. There has been norming, forming and performing in our small team, and a little storming – but no team would be complete without storming 😉 At one point I thought that Tuckman might have got it wrong – but once we started storming, I knew he had probably got it right!

We have agonised endlessly about whether we are asking the right questions. We have agreed and disagreed. We have referred to other research studies and advice on questionnaire design. We have unpicked each and every statement numerous times, agreeing and disagreeing all over again.  

And today we launched it – and we are all exhausted – and I have found the whole process scary and anxiety provoking. And we are supposed to be doing this for pleasure! No doubt you become immune to it all if you are an experienced researcher, but I am not!

But together with this anxiety is excitement. The results are already coming in. There is still a keen interest in what happened in CCK08 out there. It brings it back all over again. 

Our research process so far is worthy of examination (maybe another research study) as I think our research wiki shows. We are a group of people who have never met and are conducting this study mostly asynchronously on a wiki. So far we have only had two Skype meetings. We are looking forward to opening our wiki for everyone to see  what we have been doing, once all the results are in. We haven’t felt we could open it yet for fear of invalidating our questionnaire. But once we have the results in, we are really looking forward to hearing what others think of what we have done – however critical. It is all part of the learning process and I am certainly learning a lot.

To anyone who responds to the questionnaire – thank you!

6 thoughts on “Research is scary!

  1. suifaijohnmak April 9, 2009 / 2:14 am

    Hi Jenny,
    What a wonderful reflection! I share your feelings….still recollecting all the thoughts… like the different stages of pregnancy, starting with the embyro growing, being fed with nutrients through the blood flowing into it, and now the baby is borned. I better write a post to share this deep reflection and metaphor…to be continued
    John

  2. Keith Lyons April 9, 2009 / 9:42 pm

    Jenny

    I found Survey Monkey to be an excellent tool when I designed a survey recently. I enjoyed completing your survey.

    I trust this finds you well and relaxing. The other side of scary is EXCITING!

    Keith

  3. lin armstrong April 10, 2009 / 3:01 pm

    I loved the design it was well thought out so well worth the sweat and tears. Have a good brake then tell us what you found!!! Exciting times.

  4. Heli April 18, 2009 / 10:56 am

    Hi Jenny,
    I just answered your survey and I liked it. You gave the concepts so I didn’t have trouble in finding them 🙂

    When I answer now, after the course, I see myself as a blogger – but I didn’t know it in September … it was hard to begin a blog in Ènglish but I became a blogger during the course.
    Waiting for results
    Heli

  5. jennymackness April 18, 2009 / 6:30 pm

    Thank you Keith, Lin and Heli for your supportive comments which are much appreciated.

    Heli – I have difficulty blogging in my own language never mind an alternative one, so I think it’s amazing that you learned to blog in a different language! 🙂

    Jenny

Leave a Reply

