Resonance in blogging

This idea – raised in our research team – has grabbed my attention. Why is it that when communicating online we are immediately drawn to certain people’s posts/blogs and not to others? We resonate with certain people and ideas and not with others,  just as I was immediately attracted to the idea of resonance in online communication. I have spent a little time checking on my understanding of resonance and these are some of the explanations that for me relate to blogging as a means of online communication.

  • Resonance is the amplifaction of sound through sympathetic vibrations.
  • To resonate means to correspond closely or harmoniously.
  • Resonance occurs when the vibrations of one object come into alignment with another.
  • Resonance evokes a feeling of shared emotion or belief.

These explanations make sense to me in relation to blogging. I can recognise them in my own blogging behaviour. I am drawn to blogs where these ideas come into play. The content of a blog post on its own is not enough to draw me in. I might be attracted by the idea/s but I will soon lose interest if there are no feelings of resonance. But I have no idea why one blog will set off this resonance and another won’t and I don’t think I explicitly recognise this resonance when it is happening – it is more intuitive – a ‘gut’ feeling.  Still thinking…..

5 thoughts on “Resonance in blogging

  1. suifaijohnmak May 6, 2009 / 2:29 pm

    Jenny,
    Thanks foy your stimulating great post on resonance. As my response is a long one, so instead of posting it on your blog, and I have done it with mine.
    Great to explore…
    See what others think!
    Just exciting.

  2. Steve Mackenzie May 7, 2009 / 7:29 am

    Anatomy of a Good blogger or Anatomy of a blogger i resonate with.

    Hi Jenny maybe you should forensically dissect your favourite blogs and identify the attributes that ‘give you the vibe’.

    Areas that come to mind include:

    content of blog and blog posts
    content depth (not deep enough, to deep, just right)
    graphic design and page layout of blog
    writing style
    use of multimedia
    quality of references
    quality of insights and opinions
    Personality/ interest/ passion shining through

  3. jennymackness May 7, 2009 / 12:23 pm

    @ John – Thanks John. I haven’t been able to get into your blog for a couple of days now – so haven’t been able to read your comment. Not sure what the problem is, but no doubt it will sort out soon.

    @ Steve. Hi Steve, thanks for your visit and your comment and your interesting list, which I think would take quite a bit of thought to apply consistently. I’ll have to start thinking 🙂

Leave a Reply

