BigBlueButton Challenge

Next week (May 18th 2011) I will be working with a team, George Roberts, Rhona Sharpe, Joe Rosa (from Oxford Brookes University) and Andy Coverdale (University of Nottingham) to present a one day online course bearing the title – Benefits and challenges of communities of practice in HE

http://www.brookes.ac.uk/services/ocsld/webinars/communities_practice/index.html

This will be interesting because I have never worked in BigBlueButton before, although I had a ‘practice’ meeting today so had a chance to become a little familiar with the technology.  BigBlue Button is an online conferencing platform. It is similar to Adobe Connect, but lacks some of the functionality of Elluminate.

I have been tasked with doing a 10 minute presentation on MOOCs (this might be controversial as I have rather strong opinions about what is and what is not a community of practice – enough said :-)) and also to design a 45 minute activity about the challenges for communities of practice in Higher Education. This will be interesting because, as yet, BBB does not have a voting system and does not allow for participants to write on the whiteboard – so planning for online interactivity is somewhat limited. I will have to put my ‘thinking cap’ on, as I know from experience that the most ‘fun’ sessions are those where participants can take control of their learning. I would like to try and avoid falling into the ‘teacher talks too much’ trap 🙂

So lot’s to think about, especially since I am currently working with two research groups, one on emergent learning and the other on autonomous learning – so hopefully I will have learned something from those which will be reflected in what we do in the online course.

I really need to try and ‘put my money where my mouth is’ 🙂

5 thoughts on “BigBlueButton Challenge

  1. Fred Dixon May 12, 2011 / 9:23 pm

    Hi Jenny,

    I’m one of the BigBlueButton developers. BigBlueButton is an open source project, so anyone can pitch in and help.

    Your right that we don’t have a voting system and only the current presenter can write on the whiteboard.

    Either we’ll add one in a future version, or others will take up the challenge and submit a voting system. You can see the plans ahead on our roadmap

    http://code.google.com/p/bigbluebutton/wiki/RoadMap

    Hope your BigBlueButton session goes well!

    Regards,… Fred

  2. suifaijohnmak May 16, 2011 / 1:14 am

    Hi Jenny,
    Great to learn that you will be presenting a session on Benefits and challenges of communities of practice in HE.
    Wishing you all successes with the session.

    Would you like to post it to the FB connectivismeducationlearning group too or would you mind me posting it there? Before we post it, would you please advise? Will the session be accessible online for free? What is the link of the Elluminate session? Will there be recording of the session?

    Looking forward to learning with you on this.

    John

  3. jennymackness May 16, 2011 / 7:35 am

    Hi John – thanks for your comment and interest. No the session is not free – so I’m not sure that it would be of interest to the FB group. It costs £100 for the webinar which runs from 10.30 to 3.30 GMT.

    I made the post really because Big Blue Button is new to me. I’ll let you know how I get on.

    Jenny

  4. suifaijohnmak May 16, 2011 / 11:36 am

    Thanks Jenny.
    I have posted the link of your post here on FB, so people who are interested in the session could register. Glad to learn that you are putting on your thinking cap – and hope you would enjoy it. John

  5. jennymackness May 16, 2011 / 7:02 pm

    Many thanks John. That’s good of you.
    Jenny

Leave a Reply

