Is ChangeMooc some sort of test?

I think I am missing something somewhere – but where? I am missing Weeks 26, 27 and 28 of ChangeMooc.

According to the schedule this is what should have happened.

Week 26- Mar 5-Mar 11 – Grainne Conole  was supposed to speak.

Nothing happened that week. We were told that ‘the gang’ would be travelling to the EdgeX conference in India which was due to begin on March 12th – Week 27.

Now Week 27 according to the schedule was supposed to be Alejandro Piscitelli from the  University of Buenos Aires, Argentina. I wonder what happened to him? I hope somebody told him that he wouldn’t be speaking in Week 27, because we – as MOOC participants – were  not told, although such is the nature of distributed information and conversation that I might have missed it. We were told though that we could listen to Grainne’s presentation to EdgeX, even though it was a week out of synch. I didn’t get to hear Grainne, but I did get to hear Stephen which was a bonus 🙂

Up to this point I felt reasonably OK about it all. Like others I have found a new speaker each week too much, so a break was a relief.

But what about this week – Week 28. The schedule tells us that the invited speaker is Rosa A. Ojeda Ayala from the University of the Sacred Heart, Puerto Rico. And there has been no word of her that I have seen- but again I stand corrected if I have missed it anywhere – but there has been no post on the ChangeMooc site that I have seen, which still shows Week 25, and no mention on Twitter that I have seen. I also wonder if she was told – or was it her decision not to present this week?

Is this the ultimate test of a connectivist course? Were we supposed to take over and organise it for ourselves? Realistically I don’t think that was possible.

Could either Stephen, George or Dave (‘the gang’ as I have called them with much respect), please explain what is going on.

7 thoughts on “Is ChangeMooc some sort of test?

  1. Stephen Downes March 23, 2012 / 9:15 pm

    We were bfalling behind, and then the India trip (and the attendent illnesses) took us all out of the game. In addition, we’ve had problems with some scheduled guests not responding.

    We’ll reboot on Monday and try to finish on a higher note.

  2. jennymackness March 24, 2012 / 7:48 pm

    Thanks for the update Stephen 🙂
    Jenny

  3. Grainne Conole March 25, 2012 / 12:46 pm

    yes big apologies from me feeling very guilty about it 😦 Just too much travelling in the past few weeks – Oz and then India and around 8 or 9 presentations in just a few weeks! If its any consolidation I have set up a cloudscape space for the MOOC http://cloudworks.ac.uk/cloudscape/view/2394, better late than never? Hope you are enjoying the course overall.

    Gráinne

  4. serenaturri March 25, 2012 / 5:25 pm

    Thanks for asking the question.
    @ Downes thank you for the answer.
    Good luck!

  5. jennymackness March 26, 2012 / 6:58 am

    Thanks for the link Gráinne. Overall I am enjoying the course (if you can call it a course) – and these recent ’empty’ weeks raise further issues to think about in relation to MOOCs.

    Hope you enjoyed India.
    Jenny

  6. brainysmurf March 30, 2012 / 8:56 pm

    Thanks for this, Jenny, you were not alone in wondering what was happening over the past few weeks. I’ve enjoyed the ‘break’ or change of pace to address other work priorities and stay caught up on The Daily. 🙂

  7. jennymackness April 1, 2012 / 9:05 am

    @brainysmurf – me too!

Leave a Reply

