#fslt12 Week 2 is underway

There is loads of great discussion on the FSLT12 MOOC Moodle site  and there have been a number of fascinating blog posts which have been aggregated on the FSLT12 MOOC WordPress site

As with all MOOCs – even if you have plenty of time – it’s difficult to keep up with everything – if possible at all. A couple of my colleagues have both in the past, when I complain about feeling overwhelmed, reminded me of the importance of not trying to cover everything, but focussing on the bits that interest me and following those through. Good advice, but often easier said than done because its ALL interesting 🙂

Click on the diagram to see the course schedule more clearly

Last week the focus of the FSLT12 MOOC was on reflective practice and this generated wonderful examples of reflective writing in practice, not only from those participants being assessed. These can be found in the Moodle site and on various blogs. There was less discussion of open academic practice (which was the parallel theme for last week), but I’m sure that will be sparked off by Frances Bell’s presentation tomorrow

Frances Bell, “The Role of Openness by Academics in the Transformation of their Teaching and Learning Practices.” Wednesday 30 May 2012, 1500 BST 

Link for the session here

Check your time zone here

Frances has asked that we do some reading before attending the session. See The Role of Openness by Academics

A parallel theme this week is the Teaching of Groups and discussion has already got going in the Week 2 Moodle forums  in response to Mary Deane’s audio about this in relation to Belbin’s team roles

What are your personal experiences of group work and how do you manage group work if using it as a teaching strategy? If you are interested in these questions, then do join the discussion.

Finally, a new activity starts this week. This will be explained in the second half of the live session tomorrow, but there is also information about it on the Moodle site

There is so much going on that I will definitely be filtering and carefully selecting the threads I want to follow this week – but the good thing about MOOCs and open courses is that the information remains online long after the course finishes, so hopefully allowing time to fill in the gaps later.

3 thoughts on “#fslt12 Week 2 is underway

  1. VanessaVaile May 31, 2012 / 9:48 am

    This week I have been following mostly by email and still working on filtering. group work thoughts and experiences simmer on the back burner. we write a lot about information overload. I suspect there is also such a thing as comment overload (or exhaustion) and wonder how many different threads (whether on the same or multiple sites) I can juggle. Both overloads, as stimulating as they are, might work against assimilation and synthesis.

    Translating to students in online classes, I cannot but wonder how thread exhaustion affects participation, especially if learners are juggling extra threads elsewhere, getting sucked into comment threads on polarizing topics.

  2. jennymackness June 1, 2012 / 7:01 am

    Hi Vanessa – I have to admit that I sometimes feel that I don’t comment on other people’s blogs enough and I think it does have something to do with blog exhaustion. And that overload might work against assimilation and synthesis. And looking to blogs and forums at the same time is demanding – OK for a short course, but not for an extended period of time. So, I agree that juggling all the threads can be exhausting.

  3. VanessaVaile June 3, 2012 / 12:08 am

    It may be possible for some to manage more even distribution across tasks, but I find that focusing on one takes from the others. By that I mean blogging, tweeting, commenting on blogs, posting to a group, participating in forums, etc. I also don’t distribute the same way each time. Nor do I have the foggiest notion why I would tweet more one time and comment more another but would guess it might have something to do with social media tasks outside the course. Also I am still experimenting with what works best. That should keep me occupied for quite some time.

Leave a Reply

