New Year non-resolutions. #ds106 #dailycreate

I picked up this idea from a tweet by Alan Levine – @cogdog

People having lots of fun with today’s #ds106 #dailycreate of Non-Resolutions tdc.ds106.us/tdc722/ Love one by @Downes (“the Cossack”??)

What a great idea – so much more satisfying than the usual alternative of declaring resolutions which we know we will never keep. This also completely fits with the glass half-empty perspective I have a natural tendency to adopt and which I have blogged about in the past.

So here are my non-resolutions – in no particular order.

  • I will not be looking for or finding the elixir of youth!
  • I will not join the ranks of the extroverts, even though I suspect this might have some advantages.
  • I will not succeed in persuading my family to work in a soup kitchen on Christmas Day 2014. After years of talking about it, I suspect this is unlikely ever to happen, although I did manage to keep it all very low key this year and prove that it can still be enjoyable.
  • I will not get to see Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam, although I hope this might happen in 2015 or after. There are other places on my bucket list too, that will have to wait.
  • I will not work out the meaning of life. Why on earth are we here and what is it all for?
  • I will not read as much as I would like to and will continue to feel insufficiently informed about anything and everything 🙂
  • I will not be any more than an adequate photographer. After quite few stabs at it, courses etc., I have realised that all the associated technical stuff leaves me cold and takes the pleasure out of capturing the moment for me, i.e. snapping! I just need the memories, not the perfect photo.
  • I will not get to have it all my own way – thankfully! It wouldn’t be good for me 🙂
  • I will not be joining the ds106 community despite having it recommended by people I respect – but thanks for this motivation to blog once more before the end of the year.
  • I will not be able to stop questioning, every time I make a blog post, whether it was the right thing to do!

Happy New Year to anyone who ventures here and reads this post. May your 2014 be all you would wish for.

6 thoughts on “New Year non-resolutions. #ds106 #dailycreate

  1. Alan Levine (@cogdog) January 1, 2014 / 3:27 pm

    These are un-eminently non-achievable non-resolutions! I look not quite forward to not seeing you in the ds106 non-community.

    I’ve wrapped myself in so many double negatives, I do not know where to go, but thanks for following through on this.

  2. jennymackness January 1, 2014 / 3:38 pm

    Thanks for your comment Alan and being willing to visit my front porch – when the daily create is a feature of yours. Happy New Year 🙂

  3. jupidu January 2, 2014 / 2:43 pm

    I love your posts – so for me: yes, it is the right thing to do 🙂

  4. jennymackness January 2, 2014 / 4:20 pm

    Thanks Jutta – and Happy New Year 🙂

  5. Cris (@Cris2B) January 21, 2014 / 5:47 am

    What a great response to the Non-Resolutions Daily Create, Jenny. You’re wise to be wary — it’s easy to get hooked on #ds106. But a dabble in photographic challenges now and then wouldn’t be so dangerous. I’m no photographer but it’s amazing how much you can pick up by hanging around real good ones. Which #ds106 certainly has! Happy New Year! And New MOOCs!

  6. jennymackness January 22, 2014 / 4:29 pm

    Hello Cris – Happy 2014 to you too and its great to hear from you. Of course I knew you are a #ds106 fan and I can see why it appeals to you so much given your ‘remixing/repurposing/creative’ talents.

    I have to say that the creative talent that is evident in #ds106 is a bit intimidating for the likes of me, although I did pick up a photography technique from Lou McGill via #ds106 – which I managed to use for three of the banners on this blog! So maybe I should try lurking again and see what I can learn 🙂

    Thanks for your visit Cris.

    Jenny

Leave a Reply

