Queen of the Mountain

This is the essence of how bizarre apps and social media have become. Here is the story.

At the beginning of May I took part in a charity bike ride in Bali. In the last 15 kilometres I came off my bike and broke my collar bone. It has taken me 4 months to get back on my bike, which I did a week ago. I would like to do a 45 mile charity bike ride at the beginning of October, if I can get my fitness back in time.

The intention today was to do about 15 miles and see how my shoulder stood up, but after about 4 miles my partner’s bike failed (he is a hand-cyclist with complicated kit), and I had to cycle home to collect the car to go back and collect him.

According to Strava, the app I use on my phone to let me know how far and how fast I have cycled, this was a nine mile round trip, which in itself is hard to believe. We had scarcely left home! And again according to Strava, this evidently makes me Queen of the Mountain. This is despite the fact that I did not sprint once, and the fact that nine miles is neither here nor there in the cycling scheme of things and that the bike ride was completely unsuccessful given our aims. I will continue to use Strava, but I could do without receiving these nonsensical emails.

An email referring to me as Queen of the Mountain seems even more bizarre given the mountains climbed by the cyclists competing in the Vuelta a Espana.

2 thoughts on “Queen of the Mountain

  1. roy September 13, 2017 / 8:39 am

    Glad you’re back on your bike. Take is a little bit easier?

  2. jennymackness September 13, 2017 / 1:58 pm

    Thanks Roy. It’s a bit difficult to take it easy when you’re trying to keep up with a hand-cyclist 🙂

Leave a Reply

