#fslt12 Week 0 – starts tomorrow – Monday 14 May

 

 

The run up to the First Steps in Learning and Teaching in Higher Education Mooc is well under way. The course officially starts on 21st May (and will run for 5 weeks until 22nd June), so next week is a good time for anyone who is interested in following the course to have a look round our WordPress and Moodle sites and spend a bit of time setting yourself up and deciding where and how you want to participate. These sites are still being developed, so there may be some last minute changes next week.

Designing this course has been more complex than I anticipated and I think this is because the course is neither a fully connectivist course of the type conceived by Downes, Siemens, Cormier and Groom, nor an institutional or commercial type of Mooc (Stanford, MIT, Curtis Bonk). It is somewhere in between and is aligned at least to some extent to Oxford Brookes University’s and funders’ expectations. So we do have an LMS element (Moodle), which feels more like a traditional course, but also the course is open – we will aggregate blogs, and we are expecting people to interact in spaces of their own choosing.

Lisa Lane has written a very interesting (and for me – timely) blog post this week – Where’s your class? musings on course location   in which she describes the type of MOOC we have been developing as a ‘pseudo’ Mooc. A Mooc that perpetuates the idea that ‘class is here’.  She describes the model we have decided on as being the ‘middle ground’.

I recognise our Mooc in what she is saying. Like Lisa, my own preference is for Moocs to be open, distributed and aggregated, but as she has pointed out:

The WordPress Multi-User site, or the LMS that’s open to all, or the main blog where all blog within it but can have their content exported to save (which is what Dave is doing) may then be the preferred models for balancing these issues with those of exploration and innovation. They are being chosen because they take into account concerns of pedagogy and comfort, not because they can handle 1,000 students and use their content and personal information for other ends, but because they work.

Certainly for the #fslt12 MOOC, which is targeted at new lecturers in HE and PhD students who want to teach (although we welcome experienced practitioners as well), we hope to be able to provide a comfortable and safe learning environment for those who need it, for whatever reason.

The proof of the pudding will be in the eating 🙂 Whatever happens it has been, and will continue to be, a great learning experience!

13 thoughts on “#fslt12 Week 0 – starts tomorrow – Monday 14 May

  1. VanessaVaile May 14, 2012 / 4:32 pm

    I registered (perhaps even more than once) but was not able to get into a second site I was directed to from registration and have not received notice of having registered. As a result, I’m not sure whether I am in or not…

  2. jennymackness May 14, 2012 / 5:25 pm

    Hi Vanessa, Sorry you are having these difficulties. I have replied to you by email. Hopefully we will soon have it sorted out.
    Jenny

  3. edtechyc May 15, 2012 / 1:26 am

    Hi, I created my Moodle account a few weeks ago. I can log in and get into the course site. I can view the discussion posts, however, I can post or reply to anything. I also tried to upload a photo for my profile a few times, but the photo is still not displayed. Did I miss some steps?

  4. edtechyc May 15, 2012 / 1:31 am

    Hi, I registered in this course a few weeks ago and created a Moodle account. I can log in to Moodle and see everything in the course. However, I can’t post or reply on “Arrival Lounge” and “Course questions” although I can view others’ posts. I also tried to upload a photo for my profile a few time. But it is not displayed. Did I miss some steps?

  5. jennymackness May 15, 2012 / 8:09 am

    Hi edtechy – Would you like to try again now. I think I have sorted it for you. Let me know if you have any further difficulties. And good to have you with us on the course 🙂 Jenny

  6. VanessaVaile May 15, 2012 / 1:56 pm

    In now, ‘furnishing’ moodle profile landing page (where my picture automatically went with me, not sure where from since I use this one several profiles), adding boxes ~ and now moving on to other exploring.

  7. Wenying Huang-Stolte May 15, 2012 / 3:08 pm

    Hi Jenny,
    Thank you very much for your prompt response! Yes, I can post on the discussion board now. But it seems I still can’t display a photo for my profile.

  8. jennymackness May 15, 2012 / 3:34 pm

    Hi Wenying – I’m not sure why you can’t upload your photo and at the risk of telling you what you already know – could you check the following:

    1. That you have followed these instructions (in My home>My Profile>My Profile Settings>Edit Profile>User Picture)

    To add a new picture, browse and select an image (in JPG or PNG format) then click “Update profile”. The image will be cropped to a square and resized to 100×100 pixels.

    2. That your photo file size is no bigger than 8MB

    Does this make sense? If this doesn’t work, please get back to me as it means that the problem will be at our end rather than yours 🙂

    Hope this helps – Jenny

  9. Wenying Huang-Stolte May 15, 2012 / 3:39 pm

    Hi Jenny,
    Thanks for looking into this problem. I did exactly the steps as you described to upload a photo. The size of the photo is 32 kB.

  10. jennymackness May 15, 2012 / 3:47 pm

    OK Wenying – We’ll look into it and get it sorted. I have sent you an email. Hope you won’t have to wait too long.
    Jenny

  11. masterlereneninnoverenrotterdam May 20, 2012 / 12:37 pm

    I have registered today but am not allowed to post in the welcome lounge in Moodle. So I did not write my first message to tell you who I am. Hope it will be better tomorrow :-).

  12. jennymackness May 21, 2012 / 10:06 am

    Hi masterlereneninnoverenrotterdam -Hope you can now get in – but if not please follow the instructions on the Moodle page of the WordPress site – http://openbrookes.net/firststeps12/moodle/ and enrol on the Moodle site. If this still doesn’t work – then please get back to me and I’ll put you in touch with our technology support.
    Jenny

  13. coachcarole May 21, 2012 / 1:19 pm

    Hi Jenny, i wish to participate in the Moodle forums from my iPad. I cannot see a reply button? Can you help?
    CC

Leave a Reply

